I’ve been in Netanya, Israel for a week and Carmel convinced me to start a blog. So I figured, hey, why not. I plan to keep everyone up to date on all of the shenanigans that I get into for the next 10 months, and this seems like a good way to do that. 

My observations so far are: 

1. I love everyone in my program. People seem really cool so far, and I’m making some really good friends.  

2. Everything is disorganized. But this is Israel, so if things were organized, the country would not be able to function.

3. I am able to speak Hebrew a lot better than I realized. I never thought I’d say this,  but I owe Monica a lot. That crazy old lady scared the bejesus out of me and it turns out that it was actually for a good reason. There was apparently a method behind her extreme madness.

Last night was the grand opening of “Sky Bar,” our rooftop-turned-nightclub that the boys on the 5th floor created. It was really awesome to see everyone in a different, more relaxed setting. The guys were so funny about Sky Bar. They dressed up in their nice shirts and jackets and served us drinks and appetizers (of “aged, smoked gouda on artisan crackers and a variety of Mediterranean olives…” so, pretty much, it was triscuits and cheese.) 

I’ve been spending a lot of time at the beach, working on my (non-existent) tan. I was able to have a 10 minute conversation with a creepy Israeli dude yesterday and I was really glad that I understood him because as soon as he asked me my age and where I live, I knew it was time to leave. But it was exciting to be able to have a conversation nonetheless. 

Hopefully there will be more adventures to come!

Leave a Reply

