Where is the “Real” Red Line?

The relentless massacre of innocent Syrian civilians has been going on for almost 2 years now. The fact that Syria’s president has used chemical weapons (most likely more than once) on his own people is horrifying. 

But the fact that the world has done very little to stop the situation from escalating is even more appalling. 

The first (presumed) time that Bashar Assad unleashed chemical weapons on his own people, the Obama administration claimed that there was “inconclusive” evidence of said chemical weapons. So there was no intervention.

Two days ago, 1300 Syrian civilians were killed. In a matter of minutes, their lives were extinguished. I don’t know about you, but that terrifies the hell out of me. Knowing that Assad is still in power and so obviously lacks a sense of morality and concern for human is unnerving, to say the very very least. 

Given that I live in Israel, Syria’s neighbor to the south, I can’t help but be concerned about the aftermath that my country will experience as a result of this chemical warfare. But I’m more troubled by the world’s apparent indifference to the so blatant massacre of up to 100,000 people.

Take a minute to think about that number. 100,000. That’s more people than I have known, met, and seen in my 23 years of life. And they are all dead at the hands of one man. 

Which brings me to my main point: with all of the technology that we have in the year 2013, how is it possible that we are so blind about what is going on in our world? 

President Obama has said countless times that his “Red Line” is when proof surfaces of a use of chemical weapons. Whenever he has been given proof of this, he has chosen to argue technicalities about whether or not the proof is conclusive enough. Can you imagine living in Syria, having seen the warfare for yourself and being told that your situation is only ambiguously perilous and therefore no one is going to alleviate the reality that you face?

I love America, it’s my home and it’s where I grew up. But right now I’m extremely disheartened about what my country is (not) doing. Sure, it’s not America’s job to go in and police Syria. But it’s our collective responsibility as fellow human beings to ensure that situations like this should never occur. 

I’m disappointed and bothered by the fact that people would rather sit at home, watch TV, and act as if nothing is going on in the world. We have lost the value of human lives and it is incredibly disconcerting.

Leave a Reply

